History of Booker Prize Ceremony

Earlier this ceremony was named as the Booker Prize for Fiction. A Panel of five members will decide the winning Novel for that year.

The first  Booker Prize ceremony started  in 1969.the first Booker Prize winner is P.H. Newby. The main aim of this ceremony is to increase the reading and contemporary fiction discussion.

This is the idea of two publishers Tom Maschler and Graham C Greene. They convinced the sugar and shipping company owner Booker McConell to present this Awards.

Later, Jock Campbell became the chairman of the company in 1952. The execution of the plan was initiated when he received the copyrights of Ian Fleming's books for the 'authors division' in the company. After that, he received the rights to books of authors like Harold Pinter, Agastha Christie and others.

In this way, the ceremony of 'The Booker Prize' started to recognize the fictional works of authors not only from the United Kingdom and Ireland, but also from the Commonwealth nations.

This year the Booker Prize ceremony was celebrated On October 17th, 2022 at the Roundhouse in London. Camilla, the Queen Consort was the chief guest and the show was graced by star guest Dua Lipa.

In 2022, the Booker Prize was given to the writer from Sri Lanka Mr. Shehan Karunatilaka for his book 'The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida' , which is a supernatural satire.